A Little Attention To Detail Goes A Long Way

I drew this picture out of a comic book called The Joker: The Devil’s Advocate. I didn’t come up with it, but I copied it pretty damn well, I think; especially if you consider that I drew this entire thing with a mouse.

My webdrawn Batman

Aspies tend to pay attention to and see the little details that other people either don’t notice, or just take for granted. Sometimes this is a good thing; sometimes it’s not. Occasionally I get stuck on part of an instruction or part of something that someone says to me, to the point that I can’t focus on anything else; usually leading to a misunderstanding about intent on my part or the person involved. However, it’s this same talent for perceiving details and patterns that lets us excel in fields like math, computers, music and English (you know how many rules for grammar there are???) We catch what others don’t.

Likewise, don’t ever assume that we understand something simple. Often, I got the hard part of something without much problem, but when it came to the so-called “simple” stuff, I was lost. Unfortunately, teachers and employees often assume that if something’s easy for most, it should be easy for us too.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on November 17, 2007.

2 Responses to “A Little Attention To Detail Goes A Long Way”

  1. Enjoying your blog so far!
    My son has the incredible attention to detail. If he is drawing (he’s 6), and it doesn’t come out exactly like what he has pictured in his mind, it is potential meltdown material.

  2. I understand that frustration as well. But I’ve learned that even though I don’t like my pic, other people do. So unless I totally despise, I keep it.

Leave a Reply

 
