End of Semester Letdown

As far as I know, there isn’t anyone in the world who reacts positively to stress . . . at least in the long run.

Considering how often anxiety goes along with those on the spectrum, is it any surprise that I react badly to stress; especially after a semester is over?

Right now, I’m visiting my mother for Christmas. That’s great, because I feel very pitiful and mother needing at the moment. For the first time in months, my IBS is acting up in full force; but I don’t think that’s all that’s going on, because usually I don’t have vertigo/nausea as a related factor. Of course, as my mother pointed out, I could have just picked up a stomach virus somewhere, but considering that I haven’t been sick in months, and just now, after it’s all said and done, I get sick? Seems far too coincidental for me.

All I know is that every time I open my eyes, I feel like throwing up. And every now and then, I have the “OH GOD; run to the bathroom” sensation. That IS common to my IBS tendencies. Other than that, I just feel like sleeping all day; like more so than usual. Oh and let’s not forget the infrequent pounding heart sensation that keeps coming on; or the associating headache that is constantly there while I’m sitting up. No fever.

Malcolm ReynoldsI was just able to watch a movie (Serenity) with my mother, but I did it with the lights and my glasses off. Maybe I need a new prescription?

Maybe I’m just stressed out after a semester of grad school and being 3-odd states away from “home.” Maybe I really do need new glasses. Maybe I’ve picked up a bug.

Hell, with my luck, it’s probably all three. BTW, I’m typing this with my eyes closed with only the occasional glance to make sure that what I’m coming up with isn’t entirely grammatical drivel. Note that I said grammatical drivel; content drivel is entirely another thing. I’ll let you decide on that one.

I was planning on writing the polarization of the multiple sides of the autism issue, but then I thought to myself: “Self, what’s the point of having a blog if you can’t bitch about feeling crappy once in a while?”

And since this the first time I’ve bitched about feeling crappy (note I didn’t say anything about bitching about being treated crappily), I figured, eh, what the hell.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on December 19, 2007.

One Response to “End of Semester Letdown”

  1. Bitch on, sista! It doesn’t all have to be Autism, sometimes we have to change tracks for a bit. I would love to bitch about my relationship issues, but my BF reads the blog.

    For what it’s worth, there are times I get sick (usually a sinus ick-fest) just following high-stress times in my life.

Leave a Reply

 
