If I Were A Spaceship . . .

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind of spaceship you’d take on long voyages, because I wouldn’t wear down with time, but instead, only get better with the years.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that you wouldn’t ever lose track of in the dark. I’d have blue wings and red tinted windows, and I’d fly around through wormholes that other spaceships would never bother looking for.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that you’d want in a fight, because I wouldn’t ever give up.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would stay in the family, because I wouldn’t sell out to someone else.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind equipped with every intergalactic radio channel available (and a few that aren’t).

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would never get lost, not only because every route is memorized, but also because my internal sense of direction would be awesome.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that you’d ride for trips that you didn’t want to be bored out of your mind on.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that could communicate with all other kinds of spaceships, provided they were willing to communicate.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that never went out of style, no matter what year it was.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that you’d ride in if you wanted to be somewhere on a specific day and time.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would treat all pilots the same, unless they stole me from a family . . . *evil laugh*

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that had secret passageways that only could be accessed by people with innocence in their hearts.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that could stay cool under pressure, able to keep going strong even in the face of strong adversity.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that children would dream about riding in.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would have an instinctual knowledge for all of its passengers’ personal preferences in temperature, lighting, food preparation . . .

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind had extensive data banks of knowledge.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would help out other spaceships in times of trouble.

If I were a spaceship, I might look like this:

If I were a spaceship

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would be good to talk to in the middle of the night if you couldn’t sleep.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would keep you safe from harm.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would sacrifice myself if I knew it would guarantee your survival.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that would never forget anyone on any random planets, no matter what.

If I were a spaceship, I’d be the kind that you’d want your friends to see, just because there aren’t any other spaceships exactly like me in the universe.

And I’m not the only one who could be a spaceship either – Space Cat’s Garden

~ by lastcrazyhorn on February 16, 2008.

7 Responses to “If I Were A Spaceship . . .”

  1. Heres the latest state of the artspace news:

    I loved this forty seven years ago.

    About This Video The futuristic 1963 series “Space Patrol” (“Pla…
    (more)
    Added: August 13, 2006
    The futuristic 1963 series “Space Patrol” (“Planet Patrol” in the US) was an extraordinary, but not widely distributed, puppet show set in the year 2100.

    As a kid I could never get into Thunderbirds, but Space Patrol fascinated me. This was mainly due to the soundtrack – no music at all, just weird electronic noises, way ahead of their time in 1963.

    I was delighted a few years ago to discover that all 39 episodes survive. In 2003, Network Video released a DVD box set of the entire series (plus some wonderful rare extras). Since I first posted this clip on YouTube in August 2006, the box set has become very hard to find.

    For further investigation, the ultimate Space Patrol resource is undoubtedly:
    http://homepages.tesco.net/~space.pat… .

  2. Hey I linked my blog post to yours 🙂

  3. Lovely thoughts.

  4. If I were a spaceship, I would kick ass like this too. We could be sidekicks, like the transformers type, that change configuration when needed.

    Hey Valerie! I’ve finally been able to sit down and read merely one, yes, just one post.

    I’m thoroughly looking forward to reading your previous and future ones.

    You rock! I can’t wait to read more. 🙂 Let’s be BFF!!11shiftone1!

    Okay, I’ll tone down on the sugar rush. You can’t blame me…my boyfriend bought me dark, white and milk Belgian chocolate cookies for V-day, which I have been assured are Fair Traded, and I simply have no way to get rid of them.

    I may have to employ your services.

    Still have my room number? Come by sometime…I’ll send you away with a plastic baggie of them! Elite, I know.

    But I do have an appreciation of uberly cool spaceships (Star Trek TNG, Star Wars, Star Trek Voyager (my so-far all-time favorite) and most recently, DS9…that is out of this world.

    No pun intended. =) It was nice seeing and meeting you at the library (children’s section, of all places. Hey! I love their small study rooms for audio memory.) the other day.

    See you around, and I hope you have a fantastic night!

  5. I really like this one. There’s too much here for me to pick out a single most lovely line.

  6. Have you ever read Anne McCaffrey’s Brainship books? The first one is ‘The Ship who Sang’ or something, I think. They feature some kids who can say ‘I’m going to be a SPACESHIP when I grow up’ in a more literal sense than most.

    I like this post. If I were a spaceship…

  7. No, but now I want to!

Leave a Reply

 
