Autistic Adults/Adults With Autism (whichever you prefer)

I just found an article over at the Washington Post site called “Autistic and Overlooked.”  The amazing part of this article is that it focuses on autistic adults; something, which you’ve probably noticed, is not really mentioned very much. I mean, just look at Autism Speaks. They never mention adults in anything they do.  I think the language of the article could be reworded though, from disaster language to something more like “challenging” that would not give the impression of autism as purely a distressing thing.

Speaking of communities that do however . . . obviously Wrong Planet does.
There’s a relatively new board called “Neurointegrity,” which is run by Thomas McKean. As I understand it, its creation was partially (or totally . . .) a response to the forums over Autism Speaks, which are argument ridden and run by anonymous moderators who randomly edit/delete the posts over there when people get onto topics that they don’t like. They also have a tendency to suspend your account for a week or more as punishment for “crossing the line.”

Thomas’s idea (as I interpret it) about the boards he set up is that people should be allowed to converse and exchange information without being harassed in the process by other posters. So when controversial topics come up, they get discussed, but without flaming and name calling and all of that stuff that happens regularly at the forums of Autism Speaks.

I like that he included a specific section of the board labelled “Don’t Forget the Adults: The Government May Have Forgotten, but We Haven’t. Discuss Adult Issues Here.”

As to not leave out the not quite adult population, there’s also an article I found written by a kid (possibly a teen; it doesn’t say) who is an aspie. He gave this speech to his boy scout troop. It’s really a cool explanation.

Well, I wasn’t planning on writing every day for 4 days in a row . . . but sometimes it just works out like that.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on April 2, 2008.

8 Responses to “Autistic Adults/Adults With Autism (whichever you prefer)”

  1. It seems like in most discussions of disabilities, adults get left out of the picture. There’s a lot of to-do about children – I suppose there’s the idea that if children’s disabilities aren’t handled in the most delicate of ways, then the child will be psychologically ‘damaged’.

    Just a lot.

    Side-note: Your sidebar says your birthday is in April. Mine too! : )

  2. lot = note, sorry for the typo!

  3. Your right adults are over looked alot, as my son is just entering adulthood i have onbly just begun to realise this.
    Here in the UK our National Autistic Society have just launched a campaign for adults called I Exist.

  4. April 6th to be exact. *thumbs up*
    🙂

    It’s like they only exist up to a certain point . . . then they go Away . . . like in The Giver.

  5. I started a post on autistic adults on my blog but was pulled away to read to my son. I try, in my own little corner of the world, to make people realize that autistic adults do exist and, more importantly, that for us parents they are the ultimate resource in understanding our autistic children.

  6. Especially since as adults we are often able to express ourselves better and we have unique insights into what it was like for us when we were children.

  7. My mom and I have been talking a lot the past two days about autism awareness. Her focus has always been on kids since my son is autistic. I started talking to her about adult autistics and she got this look like she was ashamed to have forgotten that part of the community. I reminded her my son will be an adult someday and it’s foolish not to acknowledge autistic adults. Who better to provide insight for our kids and also to be role models.

  8. That’s why I’m so glad to have found you and other people in the blogging world – because my child is someday going to be a grown-up! And it really, really helps to hear from you all about all kinds of things. Every day I want to email you and ask you questions. I know that you are helping me be a better parent to my child.

Leave a Reply

 
