And The Post Of The Day Is . . .

*drumroll*

Autism: Shattering Stereotypes. Even more interesting than the article are the comments (aren’t they always?). On one hand, you have the folks who have never heard of the idea of autism being genetic; and on the other hand, you’ve got people making comments like:

“It is heartbreaking to see these kids. I am not sure if we will be ever able to find a cure or know if it is vaccine or genetics as mentioned here and heard on Larry King Live. We ceratinly [sic] hope to find a cure if mankind is capable to go to space.”

What amazes me here is that the article was so upbeat, so down-to-earth; and what do we get? Heartbreaking? And I’m thinking (originally I wrote “linking” lol) the logic here doesn’t quite work out. If we can go to space, we can cure something that has tendrils into every life on this planet (yes I’m fully a supporter of the theory that everyone is on the spectrum somewhere).

In fact, I might end up doing some fictional writing on this topic. For two years now, I’ve participated in Nanowrimo–which stands for “National Novel Writing Month.” Their goal for you is that you write a 50 thousand novel in one month. Or at least 50 thousand words of the novel. Impossible? Nuh uh. I’ve done it for two years in a row, alongside thousands of others. This event happens in November. It’s also international now instead of national, but national works better for the name, “Nanowrimo.” *laughs*

Well, last summer, these folks put out a new event called “Script Frenzy 2007.” Last year, the goal was that you wrote a 20,000 word script (e.g. – screen play, musical, stage etc.) in one month. If I’m remembering correctly, last year it happened in June. But this year, it’s in April, and the goal is that you write 100 pages in one month. That makes sense to change it from words to pages, since scripts are generally formatted in a different way.

These things are always piles of fun, even if you are completely overworked and crazy right now (like me). Then again, the busier you are, the more interesting it becomes to get your ideas on paper/screen.

And then there’s that whole concept of having a “plot” . . . hm.

If you want another opinion on the whole Nanowrimo thing, my fellow blogger Awalkabout can tell you (if you ask nicely), since she also participated in it this last year (and possible the year before; I can’t remember). She’s an awesome writer; something which is easily noticeable by reading her blog. 🙂

~ by lastcrazyhorn on April 3, 2008.

3 Responses to “And The Post Of The Day Is . . .”

  1. Randi Kaye’s piece about Dylan was really great. I do not understand how anyone went from there to “heartbreaking”.

  2. Sometimes, I entertain the thought, that in a parallel universe, or something (so that I not be accused of actually threatening anyone) that I be allowed to beat some of these silly doodahs to death with a rolled-up copy of “People” magazine.

    It would be ugly; I’ll be 60 soon, am out of shape, and am not very big. It will take a long time, and I’ll need help from other people, to hold the bastards down for me.

    All of the above was all wishful thinking, or hypothetical, or whatchacallit, of course.

  3. I understand the feeling.

Leave a Reply

 
