Goth Anyone?

Okay, so I have obsessions, yes? As of yet, none of them involve any aspect of the goth culture.

This is a problem.

I have a presentation–a 50 minute presentation–quickly approaching that I have not finished my research for. I’ve had subjects in the past that I’ve gotten interested in and become a virtual expert of in less than 36 hours. I need to do this with the goth culture too.

Hell, when I was initially reading about ASDs (I’m always reading about ASDs now), I read Tony Attwood’s book “The Complete Guide to Asperger’s Syndrome,” in less than two days. Being that that’s an awesome book, it’s a little more than the length of your average read.

I guess what I’m saying that I need to find is that extreme kind of focus that only being truly obsessed in something can bring.

The class that this is for is my Multicultural Music Therapy Grad class.  We had to pick sub-cultures and do a presentation on them and their music, and then afterwards, write a research paper about it.  I wanted to pick Asperger’s Syndrome/Autism as my sub-culture, but my teacher wouldn’t let me, since she said that there was no music associated directly with it.  I argued–I almost always do–but alas, I lost the fight.  I had read somewhere that folks on the spectrum react well to polyrhythmic (multiple rhythms) sounds in songs.  Only now, I can’t find where I read that.  So I’ll keep looking.  *sighs*

Goths.  Okay.  Outcasts.  I can dig that.  I bounced on the edge of the goth culture for about a year or so during my freshman year in college.  And I was always friends with all of the goths in high school.  I like goths.  I just need to find a way to make that like turn into obsession, at least for a bit.  Of course then the problem with that is that it’s not like you can just turn an obsession on or off.  It’s either there or it’s not.

I used to be obsessed with the X-Files.  I mean, I had it bad.  I wish I could show you.  I have a couple of pics, but no scanner.  I had pictures all over my walls and a couple on my ceiling even.  The first time I really became acquainted with the internet I spent 4 hours on it in one sitting without noticing the passage of time, because I was enthralled with all of the X-Files websites I kept finding.  It was mostly the pictures that I loved.  I’ve always loved pictures.

*ponders*

~ by lastcrazyhorn on April 16, 2008.

12 Responses to “Goth Anyone?”

  1. I love getting obsessed about things, it’s so much fun. Star Trek is one of the things for me (yes I know, I’m very sad, you don’t need to tell me) But I never seem to get obsessed about anything that would be useful to me… That’s a bit of a shame really.

  2. wish I could help but no goth obsession here either 😦

  3. Goth? Yeah, I had a little obsession with that; as a matter of fact it was right before discovering AS. So, you see, I was this forty year old goth wannabe. I doubt that I know any more than you do. Important stuff like, “Marilyn Manson is NOT GOTH and you will get flamed right off gothnet if you like his music.” Not that I can imagine anyone liking that crap. But Sisters of Mercy, Siouxsie and the Banshees, that’s okay. I had always worn black, so no problem there. And “real” goths don’t go in for all the makeup, I understand.

    Okay, so the goth thing lasted a year or so. I listened to This Corrosion every morning on the bus. This Corrosion is pretty amazing, I think. I’d be interested to hear your review, as a serious student of music.

    I do have a couple of books on goth culture. If you e-mail me your address, and if I can find them, I’ll send them to you. Lurking on gothnet is a good place to start, too.

  4. Okay, here’s what you do. Start by researching something about the culture, like, makeup. Y’know makeup plays a big role in the Goth culture. Then it will lead to other things like the music. I particularly really like Goth music and style, but you’re right, either the interest is there or it’s not. If it’s not, why not make your paper a statement from the other side? Oppose the view of the Goth movement as a sub-culture, or write about how the music supports or doesn’t support the lifestyle?

    Just some thoughts. Good luck!

  5. I think my brother was a goth back in the 70’s before anyone had ever herd of goths 🙂

  6. Sorry, can’t help you. Now, if you were into Coast Artillery and the Buffington-Crozier Disappearing Carriage, or why nitrate dope is always better than butyrate dope for shrinking Jap tissue on rubber-powered model airplanes…..

  7. Is it too late to change? You could do military culture and band music; you _are_ a bandsman, after all.

    (as am I, marched with my high school, and Ga. Tech, and Ga. Tech AFROTC bands)

    Our place is at the right of the line, the most honorable.

    Sound! Off!

  8. Really can’t identify with the goth music or culture, but sounds like Bev and mommy~dearest have made some good suggestions. Now if you wanted to know about eagles, or just raptors in general, J and I could throw some help your way! 😉
    Good luck with your project!

  9. No words of advice about Goth, but your mention of the x-files brought back some good memories of that show. Dang, it was tough in the end for us to keep it all straight. Now Husband and I are hooked on Lost and comment that it feels a bit like the x-files. Lots of detail and interesting connections between people.

    Anyhooo…..GL on the Goths!

    D

  10. Glen Gould is generally regarded as Asperger (have you heard his ‘Idea of North?) and I’ve always thought Beethoven was.

  11. […] the comments on this post helped give me this idea. I talked about obsessions, and then you all started telling me about your […]

  12. I think there is a large overlap between the Batman fandom and the Goth subculture.

Leave a Reply

 
