I Think God Thinks I’m A Cupcake

And why do you say that, lastcrazyhorn?

Well, because every time I went outside today, I got sprinkled on.

Hardy har har.

Thanks! I’ll be here all night. Sadly, that’s probably true . . .

*laughs anyway*

Eventually it poured today; thundering and lightning (lightninging?) like crazy. We were under a severe thunderstorm warning, and for all I know, we might still be *wanders over to weather.com* It’s been cancelled, it says. Okey dokey then.

That’s not what I was thinking about though, when I set out to write this post. No, I think I’ve had an IDEA. Exciting, yes, I know; kind of like aspies and obsessions, our ideas are almost cut from the same frenzied cloth. It was an Idea to start this blog (which seems to be going very well at the moment). It was an idea to write a short story in one day that ended up being 9 thousand words about an autistic boy.

In the past, my ideas have created robots out of k’nex, written novels in 30 days, gotten me into grad school, gotten me jobs, created art, written essays, created complex lego villages and underwater castles, composed compositions, built waterways through my backyard composed of dammed off areas and lakes and drainage systems . . . and generally have kept me out of mischief overall. *laughs again*

Ah, but this idea is even cooler than some of those, because, see, this idea involves you. I’ve heard this website frequently described as being like a virtual compendium of autism/aspie links and information. Well, I want to go further than that. I want to do more than just that.

And the comments on this post helped give me this idea. I talked about obsessions, and then you all started telling me about your obsessions/special interests. And see, that made me realize that there were an awful lot of diverse subjects represented here by just a few people. Then, I started to think about the implications of that concept.

Folks on the spectrum tend to have special interests or obsessions with certain topics. Really, the term, “obsession,” doesn’t fully appreciate the depth to which we pursue these interests. To tell you the truth, it’s almost as if we become semi-experts in the fields that we take interests in. And really if you want to know something about a particular field, the best person to ask about it (in order to get the full picture), would be an aspie/autistic person.

For example, one of my current special interests is the autistic spectrum. I have a feeling that this interest isn’t going pass on anytime soon either. I mean, just look at this website. I did all of this in 6 months. Anyone who has kept up with this site over a period of time knows that the sources here just keep expanding. I just keep finding more sources, and I like sharing what I have, so I link to what I see.

However, in the past, I have been interested in an array of thing, as shown in this post that covers topics that I have researched or studied.

An excerpt from that post:

  1. What subjects are you presently reading/have read? Oy. Ethics in therapist settings, autism spectrum disorders, depression, bipolar disorder, auditory processing disorder, sensory processing disorder, PTSD, complex PTSD, html basics, impacts of divorce, borderline personality disorder, DID/MPD, dyspraxia, dyslexia, music history, special needs children, goa, psytrance, self-injury, sexual abuse, frostbite, Batman, micropreemies, chelation, guitar chords, sackbutts, french horns, physics of sound, hyperlexia, prosopagnosia, nygstagmus (voluntary and involuntary), X-Files, M*A*S*H, Eminem, Irritable Bowel Syndrome, lactose intolerance, (back when I was a kid, I had a minor passing obsession with dinosaurs, but my obsession was more centered on the La Brae Tar Pits), La Brae Tar Pits (which of course led to volcanoes), volcanoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, tornadoes, Harry Potter, tarot, quadriplegia, Murderball/Wheelchair Rugby, Vincent D’onofrio, Alan Alda, HBO’s Oz, Wizard of Oz (and the series), general anxiety disorder, stress, attention deficit disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder, SLIders, Christianity, Synaesthesia, Chromaesthesia, human anatomy, human sterilization, scarification (maybe I should leave that one off . . . man, this list could go on forever, geez), Star Wars, Star Trek, nuclear winter, asteroids (not to be confused with kidney stones), teenage mutant ninja turtles, dehydration . . . pain management, poetry (I might mention that most of these interests come from pre-graduate school years). I might also alphabetize this list.

Well of those, the ones that I could be considered a good resource for would be:

  1. autism spectrum disorders
  2. depression
  3. bipolar disorder
  4. sensory processing disorder
  5. complex PTSD
  6. impacts of divorce on children
  7. DID/MPD
  8. certain aspects of special needs children
  9. self-injury
  10. sexual abuse
  11. Batman
  12. micropreemies
  13. guitar chords (at least an elementary understanding)
  14. french horns
  15. hyperlexia
  16. X-Files
  17. Irritable Bowel Syndrome
  18. Lactose Intolerance
  19. Hurricanes
  20. Tornadoes
  21. Harry Potter
  22. Hawkeye
  23. Wizard of Oz series
  24. General Anxiety Disorder
  25. stress
  26. ADD/ADHD
  27. OCD
  28. Christianity
  29. Synaesthesia/Chromaesthesia
  30. Boba Fett
  31. Star Trek’s Q
  32. Pain management
  33. Dehydration

Plus, you can now add Medicare into that list. I had to do an assignment for one of my classes on Medicare that ended up being just barely short of 20 thousand words by the time I finished. Needless to say, I know a lot more about Medicare than I ever thought I would. But now, I want to know more. I want to know what I’m doing in regards to my insurance and I want to make sure that I’m not getting screwed over by anyone. I want to know my rights and I want to help other people to know theirs.

I mean, I just had passing interests in these things as time went on. Oh and a couple more that should be mentioned are:

  1. Weighted vests
  2. Polio
  3. Asthma
  4. Stephen King
  5. Bullying
  6. Research
  7. M*A*S*H (the tv show)

So here’s what I was thinking. All of you out there, if you’d be willing to be a potential reference, you could be included on the reference page that I haven’t yet written, with a list of topics that you can help provide info for. Did that make sense? It’s after midnight and I’ve been going on less than 5 hours of sleep every night this week.

Let me know what you think and if you need clarification on what the heck I said. This would include all of you getting links in your usernames leading wherever you wanted btw.

Speaking of random things, check out one of the things I’ve been listening to lately:

We have miles to go before we sleep
no time to catch our breath
we don’t even mind,
as long as we find our final destination – by a group called “Vertigo”

~ by lastcrazyhorn on April 18, 2008.

4 Responses to “I Think God Thinks I’m A Cupcake”

  1. Hi, this may be way off base with what your point of this post is, but it made me think about my own son who is 9, and has Autism (not Aspie by all accounts) and has major perseverations with computer (mainly watching commercials on Youtube). I feel it’s realllly bad, but then, I wonder if taking away his obsession or stifling it is really bad too. You got me thinkin! I guess I feel that the stuff he watches isn’t benefiting him one bit. But, maybe it is in some way! Love your blog!

  2. Wow thanks. Really, what you have to remember is that our obsessions often turn into job options. Like I’ve been obsessed with psychology ever since the time I was about 14 or so; plus I’ve always been involved with music, so it made sense to go into music therapy.

  3. I just wanted to leave a quick comment to let you know that I think this idea is totally rad. A few of the interests you listed are mine too, so I’d certainly have a few links to contribute.

  4. “God thinks I’m a cupcake…because every time I went outside today, I got sprinkled on.”

    I groaned. Hard. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
