Here or There

Wanna hear about my backyard?  No?

Want to now?  Still no?

Well see, there are these three big oak trees back there.  Yes, you said no.  I don’t care though.  It’s my blog.  Shh, this is interesting–at least to me.

There are these three big oak trees back there and–well, let me clarify something first.  When I say big, I don’t mean big as in Texas big.  Texas might do big, but not in trees.  North Carolina has Texas beat on that.  Easily.

We found out the story on these trees a few years back.  Apparently, the then-current owners of the house had them transplanted from the river to the back of the house.  Okay.  So my backyard isn’t huge or anything, but it’s an okay size for a backyard.  I think so anyway.  We sit in a row, like so many other neighborhoods, squished in-between two other houses, with another 2 behind us.  However, there’s at least twenty, maybe thirty (this I doubt somewhat), feet between the houses; so it’s not like you can just lean out and touch the next one over.  Close, but not that close.  See?  Hmm.  I wish I had a picture.  *roots*  Nope.  Not of the backyard anyways.

Where was I?  Ah, river.  Well, that was about 30 or 40 years ago (maybe 50) and these babies are monstrous.  As in, when there are storms, the branches that hit the ground are frequently the size of younger trees.  It makes for interesting thunderstorms sometimes.  It makes for exceptionally interesting (read terrifying) ice storms.

If I had to guess, I’d say the tops of the these trees are somewhere in the range of 3 or 4 stories tall.  But I can’t see the top, so I’d say that number is a bit variable.

I’ve spent a lot of time looking at these trees.  Mostly because, when I was younger, these trees were one of the more constant things in my life.  I could look outside and there they’d be.

That and, I’d watch the world around those trees.  Kids in the house behind us like to play outside a lot–or they did when I was younger.  I’m older than them by a chunk and a half, but I think they’re finally growing up.  Kids do that, from time to time, I think.

I like kids.  Most of them anyhow.  I was going to say that there are a lot of really cruddy kids out there, but–.  However, I changed my mind.  There are a lot of really cruddy situations that kids find themselves in (that’s better, don’tcha think?).  Kids act different in different situations.  People too.

I get along really well with most kids.  Not just with the geeks, surprisingly enough.  I get along well with most people, I’d like to think.  If they’re open to getting along with me, then I usually can get along well with them.

Kids are funny though.  I like watching them figure things out.  I like helping them figure stuff out.  I like showing them concepts to figure out.

There’s this trick, right, that I figured out a long time ago.  I’m always doing stuff like this–figuring stuff out.  It’s what I do.  I share this trick with kids that I like.  I teach ’em how to cry on command.  It’s pretty easy once you think about it.  Simple.  You just have to figure it out.

All you have to do is learn how to yawn with your mouth closed.

And make it look like you’re crying and not trying to yawn with your mouth closed!

*smacks head*

Duh.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on May 21, 2008.

7 Responses to “Here or There”

  1. I love oak trees. We used to have them but our neigbours killed them by hammering all these stupid stick ladders up the tree. I wish someone would have told them to stay out. my favorite thinking tree (oak in the middle of the swamp) is now dead.

    Talk to you later! im going to try to write in my own blog for a bit. I havnt felt much like writing in a while. Enjoy the rest of your visit. I hope you feel better for the rest of your stay 🙂

    Your Chey 🙂

  2. I do want to hear about your back yard 🙂
    I can’t wait till I have a belcony lol. I can tell you bout my garden.

    I hope you dont mind that im borrowing your idea for organizing my links better in my own blog 🙂 Take care!

    Chey 🙂

  3. I wanted to hear about it too. I wish I had your backyard. You don’t want to hear about mine (it involved canine feces 😦 ) This post was great 😆

  4. and so it came to pass that once more the silent majority let an issue pass. I, for one, didn’t want to hear about your backyard.

    but I’m kinda glad I have now 🙂

  5. I’ve spent a lot of time looking into that backyard . . .

  6. so thats why you havnt been here… can i convince you to come to the computer lol. *plots to get lastcrazyhorn away from backyard*

    Oh I also started a new blog here on wordpress so check it out sometime 🙂 Im all hyper cause its brand new lol

    Take care
    Hugs
    Chey

  7. Where where where???

Leave a Reply

 
