Possible New Obsession

Frelling hell. I dropped my glasses last night and now there’s a tiny scratch on the lens; just across the pupil too. *pouts*

Anyways, what was I saying? Oh, my possible new obsession.

So, here’s my question: Have you heard of the Eternity puzzles??? Well see, back in the day, about 8 years ago, to be exact, there was this puzzle created by this guy Chris Monckton or something like that. It had 256 geometric shapes, which had to be compiled together using every piece. Ah, but there was a catch. A very nifty catch. The first person to find a solution to it won $1 million dollars. That was 8 years ago.

Now they’re out with Eternity 2 – with a prize of $2 million dollars this time.

There’s this trial run online that is only 16 pieces. I solved it in 1 minute and 45 seconds. My coworker who sent it to me has yet to solve it. Somewhere in there lies an extreme, I think, but whether the outlier is me or her, I’m not sure. You should try it and let me know. Of course, it makes sense to me that aspies would probably be better at it. It’s sort of a pattern and logic mix. My best thing. *cracks knuckles and grins* Try it out. Tell me how you fare.

Also, btw, if you really wanna go crazy, I found an online rubics cube.

Oh, and I just found out that this site has TETRIS!!! Like, as in, old school tetris. I used to play this game back when I was 6. I should find out what kind of computer that was, just so I can brag about having to use it when I was young. ROFL. Man, this site rocks!

~ by lastcrazyhorn on June 26, 2008.

13 Responses to “Possible New Obsession”

  1. Wow, yer just a kid — I played Tetris during college chemistry study breaks. /humor

    I ought try that puzzle when I’m more awake…

    andrea

  2. Well, according to the undergrads, I’m practically ancient. I’m 24 btw. 🙂

  3. You should try for the 2 mil. Then you could buy me some chopsticks (I’ve a fascination for chopsticks right now for some reason).

    Smack the next undergrad that calls you ancient- it makes me feel even older! 🙂

  4. Speaking of glasses…my puppy got a hold of mine a couple weeks ago and cracked and scratched the lenses and bent the frame. Good thing for contacts and an old pair of glasses (which definitely don’t work too well), but I think I’ll be needing a new pair soon…I miss having the option to wear either glasses or contacts! 😛

  5. That’s not important; The Supremes have just ruled on the Second Amendment, and that’s not just my and other folks’ perseveration, but a serious Constitutional question, just barely rightly decided, with the usual suspects (Stevens, Souter, Breyer, and Ginsburg) on the wrong, or bad, or batshit insane side of the question.

  6. 2 mins 19seconds, if only I’d known from that start that the grey bits were supposed to go to the edge… I thought it was a middles only type deal! :p if only I were smart! Rubik’s are easy… it’s tetris that is hard.

    I’m 28 and just going back to uni… but I have an “ageless” face so people tend to mistake me for younger than I am… though sometimes older.

  7. and Justthisguy… what are Florence Ballard, Mary Wilson, and Diana Ross doing presiding over the second amendment?

  8. 1 minute 32 seconds, and yes I’m an aspie too. Hi, I’ve been reading your blog for a little while.I know what you mean about the ancient thing. I work in a pharmacy school. I’m only a few years older then them (usually 2-3) and they act like I’m their fragile great aunt.

  9. People always figure me for younger.

  10. I’m with everyone else…u should go for the 2 mill 🙂

  11. Well, I never did spend my birthday money . . . I could use that for this. 🙂 That way I wouldn’t feel guilty about wasting funds.

  12. 1st time I’ve ever even heard of it…1 min 10 seconds for the trial puzzle.
    I think you run windows but there is a gameset for linux that includes a game called Tetravex…its basically the same thing but without the extra challenge of the gray boarder

  13. Hmmm . . .

    I did find a game called Dicimoes that kind of reminds me of it. Not entirely, but close; especially the “hard” level.

Leave a Reply

 
