I Think The Weather Has Something Up Its Sleeve

The weather affects me adversely at times. When there’s something in the air that no one can yet feel, and the weather dudes have just started to possibly predict infinitesimal chances of something maybe happening, I start feeling off. I wonder if this is an aspie thing or just a leftover primal instinct. I’d be interested in y’all’s responses and thoughts on the subject, if you don’t mind.

For instance, I’ve been hyper for the past two days; yesterday it was mild; today it’s significantly worse. Worse as in my hands are violently trembling. Worse as in I’m having to remind myself constantly to stop gritting my teeth. Worse as in I keep forgetting to breathe.

Number 2, my joints are threatening mutiny on me. I’m hypermobile – all my joints are too loose. You know how they say that it’s impossible to touch your tongue to your elbow? Well, someday I’ll get a friend to take a picture of me doing it.

I’ve twisted nearly every one of my leg joints, with especial attention to my left knee and right ankle. I’ve never sprained anything (far as I can tell), but I’ve done everything right up to the point of spraining. Right now my left knee won’t bend at all unless I sit down. It took me twice as long to make it down the stairs today in my dorm and it hurt all the way. Usually I’m a little stiff in the morning, but today . . . *shakes head* I mean, usually once I get moving, I loosen up and I’m okay. But today . . .

I feel like I’m waiting for something to happen.

And here’s the thing, I haven’t done anything to warrant excessive knee pain. I guess it’s a possibility that the hyperness is causing it, but the issue is that it never really has done that before. And trust me, I get hyper a lot. I would have noticed.

I mean, I’m not just hyper — I’m wired. I’m intense. My hypervigilance is at pre-high school levels. I could probably get by without my glasses today, because I can see better than usual. I didn’t think that I could get by with wearing my weighted vest at work; so instead, I brought a couple of weights with me today and they’re sitting in my lap.

It’s too quiet outside and it’s not just because it’s Friday. I feel like Laura in “The Long Winter;” always keeping an eye on the sky outside, just waiting for the next blizzard to strike.

I just checked the weather and found out that we are supposed to get thunderstorms tomorrow evening, and there’s a chance of them being severe. Also, when I looked the first time an hour ago, it said that the barometric pressure was steady. However, when I checked a minute ago, it had switched to “dropping.” It’s at 29.92 right now.

When our pressure was still steady, I did a Google search for dropping barometers in Texas and discovered that the barometer in Houston is also dropping.

Then, I looked online at Weather.gov for the latest watches and warnings for Texas. Now, I’m not real familiar with the names of the surrounding counties/cities, but I did notice one that I recognized. Tyler. It’s a semi-podunk town a couple of hours (West? South? East?) of here. This is what it read at 2 pm, Central time:

132 PM CDT FRI JUN 27 2008
…TROPICAL FUNNEL CLOUDS POSSIBLE THROUGH THIS EVENING…
AT 1:30 PM…THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE RECEIVED A REPORT OF A FUNNEL CLOUD BETWEEN KAPLAN AND GUEYDAN IN VERMILION PARISH. A VERY MOIST AND UNSTABLE TROPICAL AIRMASS IS IN PLACE ACROSS THE AREA. MEANWHILE…THE VERTICAL WIND PROFILE OVER THE AREA IS LIGHT AND VARIABLE. THESE CONDITIONS ARE FAVORABLE FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF TROPICAL FUNNEL CLOUDS…ESPECIALLY WHERE RAIN COOLED BOUNDARIES…KNOWN AS OUTFLOW BOUNDARIES… AND THE SEABREEZE COLLIDE. THESE TROPICAL FUNNEL CLOUDS ARE USUALLY SHORT-LIVED AND DO NOT REACH THE GROUND. IF THE FUNNEL CLOUD BECOMES MORE SEVERE AND REACHES THE GROUND…MINOR DAMAGE MAY OCCUR…AND A TORNADO WARNING WILL LIKELY BE ISSUED.

Great.

It might be nothing. You’ve probably heard about how Texas weather defies all reports and predictions.

But still, I know what I feel.

This is another thought to have when working with people, but I think especially in regards to people on the spectrum. After all, one of our defining characteristics is being oversensitive.

================================

EDIT/UPDATE:  So, Obama/Clinton?  It’s like watching a parody of my life on TV.  Like everyone said, “Well, that’d be pretty funky if that happened,” but none of us were that serious, I didn’t think.  And now . . . weird.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on June 27, 2008.

11 Responses to “I Think The Weather Has Something Up Its Sleeve”

  1. Yikes! I have no particularly valuable input here, as I’m not on the spectrum, but it sounds like something is up. I will keep an eye on the TX weather on the internet tonight! Hope any tornadoes miss your immediate area.

  2. Thanks. 🙂 Keep that eye open tomorrow night too.

  3. OK, first — you live in Louisiana, too?!?! Groovy.

    Second, I don’t think it’s unusual at all that you react physically to impending weather, especially thunderstorms and tornadoes. I do, too. I get headaches when the barometric pressure changes, and it seems moving close to the Gulf exacerbated it (I’m from Kansas but moved to New Orleans in 2004). I also get extremely nervous when tornadoes are nearby. I just can’t sit still.

  4. Actually, I’m just a neighbor – I’m in Texas. BTW, I’m under a severe thunderstorm watch right now. Why does that not surprise me. You all should see the red that’s coming at me right now.

    In fact, I might just take a screenshot – you know, for posterity’s sake.

  5. Someone remind me. Is the sky supposed to be teal?

    weather on june 27, 2008

    That’s my radar right now.

  6. I feel sort of “displaced”, heavy-legged or heavy-brained–hard to describe… when the weather is planning on doing something (not necessarily with our knowledge) different barometrically speaking. My kid, DXd with Aspergers since he was pretty young, was intensely emotionally “needy” and hyper-sensitive and over-the-top anxious (his word)on Thursday; Friday we had humidity and T-storms as opposed to Thurs, when it was relatively pleasant (PA). He often
    seems unsettled when a weather change is coming, esp changing to low pressure. Once the pressure evens out, finds its low or high, we both feel better.

    Thank you, by the way, for your blog which I only recently discovered. I find it to be helpful for being more insightful into what’s going on for my kid (19). I think he would like it, too, but it’s up to him to come and read.

    I’m curious what the “truth” is that you mentioned re: parents on your “Lines in the sand” blog. (Feel free to email privately)

  7. PS omg, your radar thingie is kind of terrifying looking

  8. I think you’re on to something about the weather. I think the larger barometric pressure changes can wreak havoc with our sensitivities. I often check the monthly barometric pressure graph on http://www.wunderground.com/ , and it seems to back up the idea.

  9. I’m a self diagnosed aspi. In some ways summer is difficult for me. I’ve just been thro a few weeks of hell, lost motivation to work, spaced out, disconnected and looking like the early stages of alzheimers. These last two days I’ve worked well again, month end deadlines and a new order to boost morale. I have been self employed for twenty five years and have to be, as I cannot bear to work among others – what a curse! At least not some of the shits I experienced. To get back to the point, theres something abt this time of year that pisses me off, perhaps its a subconcious thing – ‘everyone’ is out grooving and having a good time? Traditional Chinese Medicine has an explanation for this which at the moment I cannot remember. I’ll enquire and let you know. I’ve never thought barometric pressure was relevant, with me its foods and the general framework of interactions, and my order book. Sheilas friend.

  10. I am interested in what you find out. I despise summer btw. I can’t for the life of me understand why people enjoy it.

  11. I cannot understand why people want endleee sun. It gets hot, there are flies. Perhaps also it reminds me of school summer holidays which as I got older highlighted my isolation. I enjoyed the six weeks, it was the going back that crippled me. One of my unhappiest memories was of going back being bunched with these shits called ‘my year’ and not making one single link or comment or exchange with anyone for hours, perhaps all day. By then it had probably got to the stage where my own voice sounded odd and out of place, as if not mine. For the last two years at school I hardly spoke. I grew more and more hateful of the people around me. All blocked and aspi. It was compounded by all of us being shuffled into a room we’d never used before which heightened the discomfort further. Give me winter any day, rain, drizzle, ever changing clouds. Do you know, I’ve never been invited to a bbq? Well two, my wifes friends and they were so flippin bad they triggered my depression. Evil shits. Summer is also bad for dog walkers, long grass, grass seeds in dogs ears and eyes, ticks, adders (snakes) and more flies. Who the heck can walk in such heat? Well, thats what summer means to me. Sheilas friend.

Leave a Reply

 
