The Taste of Bandaids and Other Such Random Occurrences

This post has been archived.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on August 31, 2008.

18 Responses to “The Taste of Bandaids and Other Such Random Occurrences”

  1. Your dreams lie to you. The outsides of band-aides taste like sterile. It’s quite yucky.

    That list is starting to make me very thankful for even that teacher I had in grade 8 who gave out detentions largely at random because he couldn’t be bothered to learn to tell the kids apart. I hope I never have to deal with someone so nasty.

  2. My goodness, no wonder you are having strangely negative dreams! Jumping through hoops to satisfy someone like this always stinks. I hope you won’t have many semesters with her.

  3. I have to say that I know who you’re talking about, and I have to disagree with you. She has been an inspiration to me on several levels and has been the best teacher that I have possibly ever had. I’ve never once had a negative experience with her; and when I was going through a really rough time, she went out of her way to try and help me.

    When I first started the program, I used to consider giving up on music therapy. She was the one who always cheered me on and told me to not give up. I honestly don’t know where I’d be without this amazing woman. She has endured a lot in her life and has several accomplishments. I personally think she has a lot to be proud of, and definitely knows what she’s talking about.

    I’m sorry that you have had less than pleasant experiences with her, but I’d have to say that not everyone would agree with you on this one.

  4. Well, I can tell you for sure that she is much less confident in me. Dr. H. and Mr. J. both think I can make it, but she has expressed doubt, which leaves me always feeling as though I have to be on guard/prove myself.

    You sound as though you are one of her favorites. Not being one of them, I can tell you that it’s a lot rougher outside that circle.

  5. I am reminded of a quote from the movie, “What Dreams May Come.” Robin Williams’ character (the father) is talking to his son Ian:

    Robin Williams – How do you feel? More than I want you in or out of some school I want to know how you feel when you go to bed at night?

    Ian – Really scared. It’s a slap in the face when you walk through the door and everyone’s taking a test…and they’re just breezing through it..and for you it just kinda goes.

    Every day I see how I’m not as good as you and everybody else. But that doesn’t mean I give up.

  6. Never give up, LCH… I am worried about all this hoop-jumping, but I totally understand it on the other hand. I’ve had professors that made me jump tons of hoops just to find out that they did that just to show that I could do it and that I was the superior student they thought I was. Now, these hoops you’re placing up for yourself are very numerous. I hope they don’t diminish your enjoyment of the class nor your program. Unfortunately, a program can be built or broken by one person.

    I’ll be praying for an excellent semester for you. You don’t need added stress to you. Heck, you already beat Financial Services! 😉

  7. WOW!! I hate these kinds of profs. I had one that I was able to avoid for most of my college experience. I had her only one time for about 3 weeks and I dropped the class. Unfortunately, it doesn’t sound as if you are that lucky. I’m stuck with my evil prof next semester. No way around it…she is the only one teaching the course. Hope the class someway, somehow gets manageable and you can score good grades despite her evilness.

  8. @musictherapy: now that you’ve read lch’s perspective, try observing this professor with this in mind.

  9. Wow, I am impressed with your list, and also hope that at least some of it was supposed to be humorous, as it would make for a miserable class for me! But, perhaps you are an all or nothing kind of person? Either way, I hope you do well in that calss and walk away with an A.

  10. Wow–EGADS, actually– that’s one long, overwhelming list you’re expecting of yourself. I vote that you simplify it to one “rule” that seems to encompass them all: #75 ( of 77!!!) “Always be courteous”. That covers a lot of ground…

  11. As someone who also might be considered to fall into said professor’s “inner circle” of students (I say it not out of haughtiness, but in order to prove that I also think one exists), let me say that I would not be the developing therapist I am today without this professor’s aid and guidance. She has helped me learn to lead sessions, but also, and perhaps unbeknownst to her, she has helped me deal with some of my “issues” that prevent me from being the therapist I want to become.

    That being said… my philosophy with all three of our professors is to take the information I receive and determine which out of that information is relevant to me. (I wouldn’t say I “toss” the rest, but, well… it goes somewhere in the back of my mind very rarely to be seen again) I do this because I believe my professors are human and, therefore, imperfect. Like most professors and teachers, they judge people without knowing their stories – and in some cases, this causes students to feel as if, no matter what they do, they might never win their professors’ approval. It breaks my heart that you feel this way about said professor, but I think I can see where you are coming from (I don’t want to say “I understand” – I very well may not fully understand).

    By the way — I think you’re incredibly intelligent, and I truly value your opinions in class. Just wanted you to know 🙂

  12. LCH, please don’t misconstrue what I was trying to say. I don’t consider myself better than anyone in this program. I support everyone in it. I’ve had my share of problems… Perhaps I was too quick to respond to your blog. I in the past have opened up to this prof. which in turn made me appreciate and perhaps understand her a little better. I know her as an amazing and caring lady, but I can see how there might be personality conflicts. I guess this is unfortunately the case with most professors. I sometimes have problems with Mr. J, you on the other hand don’t seem to.

    Just like I would say to anyone else in the program; if this is what you really want in life, and this is your passion (I know it’s mine) then go for it.

  13. CasualParticipant – Thx (about the incredibly intelligent bit) . . . this is why I always do much worse in the warm-ups for her class than I do for say, Dr. H’s classes. I mean I get nervous in her classes, but it’s nothing like Dr. C’s. In her classes, I can just feel her waiting for me to screw up, which in turn will validate her opinion of me.

    MusicTherapy – It is my passion. I can see all of the bits of my personality coming together in a complete person now, because of the direction MT has put into my life.

  14. The one and only rule I had; “Give the professor what they want”.

  15. Reading your blog makes me want to send Dr. C a dead rat. I wonder what she would say if she knew how terrible she makes you feel?

  16. Mama!!!

    I think that would be an exceptionally lousy idea . . .

  17. LCH, how do you deal with schism on internet message boards? Schisms? A Schism? Oh, never mind about the phraseology.

    So, Aspies For Freedom basically crumbled while I was away from the site, and now I am a member of “Spectrumites” and AFF. Should I be, though? Is it better to take a stand and offend some people, or split the middle and simply express your displeasure at the breakdown of civility?

    I need some advice, and I value your insight, seeing as you are quite active on the spectrum communities…

  18. […] email from a prof this afternoon telling me that I had a meeting between him, Dr. C (remember from earlier?  She’s also my advisor), and Dr. H.  At least I have a chance at having at least one […]

Leave a Reply

 
