Sign of Change

My desire to write lately has been somewhere in the lower ends of the gutter.

So this makes me wonder if maybe my subconscious isn’t saying, “oy, time to change writing styles!”

Or something.

I’ve changed my listening music*.  I’m changing majors . . . I think.  That’s still up in the air.

Last night I dreamed about the Joker (from The Dark Knight) having a conversation in a bar with Lucius Malfoy about his coin.  Anyone else get the problem(s) with that?  So Lucius hands it over, and Joker looks at it and realizes that something is different.  Batman’s face is carved into one side.

*facepalm*

The paper that I’m writing this year is on music and dementia, with especial attention directed towards sensory stimulation, frontotemporal dementia (4th most common type), and nursing home abuse/elder abuse.

And see, here’s the thing – the more I read up on older adults and their symptoms and comorbidities and social behaviors, the more I see comparisons to autism.  In fact, the late stages of dementia and autism in general have so many similarities that I’m surprised that there haven’t been more comparative studies done on the two areas.

In addition, I’ve figured out that no matter what I do with my life, I want to be involved in some fashion with people who are frequently treated with less respect/understanding that what should be warranted.  Or, rather, the people who are most frequently discounted as being less worthy.  Anyone got a thesaurus?  Undervalued.  Not the right word.

*kicks the imaginary cat in her room*

Thus, even though I greatly enjoy the act of inputting data into spreadsheets for hours on end and could probably happily do that for the rest of my life, I can’t allow myself to do that and be that stagnant.  I would be comfortable doing that.  It would not be challenging though; at least not on an interpersonal level.

That said, I feel that I have a certain quality about me that allows people who have been mistreated, or who have been undervalued, discounted, or generally treated like shite, to open up and talk to me.  I have a woman in my practicum setting who is officially labelled as non-verbal (according to her chart), due to age-related deafness.

The woman talks to me.  She speaks in full sentences even.  Me.  The girl who was at this site last year was told that this woman never spoke, minus a few times during that semester when she said a few things to this girl.  This girl has witnessed the interactions between this woman and me and has remarked that she has never seen her so involved with anyone.

Here’s a classic comment from another client:  “You might be kind of weird and odd, but I still think that you’re one of the nicest people I’ve ever known.

I can go with that.

*nods*

*Alfie, Belle and Sebastian, Clinic, Devotchka, Elf Power, Franz Ferdinand, Gomez, Jim Noir, Kula Shaker, Mercury Rev, Neutral Milk Hotel, Of Montreal, Super Furry Animals, The Apples in Stereo, The Arcade Fire, The Beta Band, The Decemberists, and The GO! Team, just to name a few . . .

~ by lastcrazyhorn on November 8, 2008.

8 Responses to “Sign of Change”

  1. I’d call but you never gave me your numbers for Texas. So I guess I’ll say hi, and leave it at that.

  2. Mercury Rev?!

    I though only old Generation X’s like me had heard of them…

  3. And see, here’s the thing – the more I read up on older adults and their symptoms and comorbidities and social behaviors, the more I see comparisons to autism. In fact, the late stages of dementia and autism in general have so many similarities that I’m surprised that there haven’t been more comparative studies done on the two areas.

    Hi there!

    This semester, one class is in Mild & Moderate Disabilities. This week’s disability was Down Syndrome & Mental Retardation. The lecturer was saying that as DS folks are living longer, at the end of life they tend to develop AS-like behavior changes. I don’t have the class hand-out here, but you might do a pubmed search to see if anything comes up.

  4. Socrates – I’m actually on the cusp between Gen X and Y.

    Liz – I think I’ve heard something similar to that somewhere . . . reminder to self . . .

  5. Ooh, Elephant 6 bands. As a current resident of Athens, GA, that makes me happy. 🙂

  6. I think you definitely need to work with people in some capacity. There is a reason that you are drawn to people and they are drawn to you. I don’t know what but don’t let others let you think you can’t or shouldn’t work with people. It’ll happen. Some way, some how, it will happen.

  7. I think the word you may be looking for is “marginalized.” You identify with and want to be an advocate and support for people who don’t fall into the the center of society but are pushed to the edges. You’re my hero.

  8. I think i need to turn you on to some of my musical obsessions…

    OT, have you seen this? http://www.variety.com/VR1117995653.html

Leave a Reply

 
