Well You Gotta Figure . . .

After writing a 50K of a novel, one would be a little more inclined towards writing out their thoughts, yes?  Remember that I’ve had writer’s block on this blog for the better part of the semester.

I’m kinda hoping that I’m past that now.

So I wake up this morning, yes?  And I look outside, to the darkness out the window, and what do I see?  Wind.  It’s whipping through the trees with a violent ferocity that I haven’t seen in at least a week; when I drove down from Oklahoma to Texas after the end of the Thanksgiving holiday.  Mind you, I drive a standard (has a stick shift), and the trip is nearly 3 hours long; add to that the fact that my left leg, the one that operates the clutch, is the one that has been causing me pain and trouble and whatnot.  Yeah, I got done with that trip and I was just about to fall over.  Then of course, I had a concert that night – singing Benjamin Britten’s “Ceremony of Carols” at my church.  I got back at 3:30ish, call was at 5:00, and then the concert itself was at 7 pm.  Luckily the director had a few stools for people to sit on if so desired.  I yoinked one (with permission of course).

And then I had the sinus headache from hell yesterday; I’m sure everyone at my work was convinced that I was coming down with a sinus infection.  However, after seeing the level of wind power against the world outside my window this morning, I can understand the harshness of the headache.  My head, much like my knee, reacts against changing barometer pressures.  I don’t know for sure, but I suspect that the temperature is likely to drop today.

Oh, and you all know of my thing with Batman yes?  Special interest and all, right?  Well, I got paid a huge compliment the other day by one of my coworkers that made me think of Batman.

See, I’m doing a database for all of the terminated employees files at my work.  Have I mentioned that before?  Hmm, can’t remember.  Anyways, I’m going backwards through time and trying to find accurate information with which to record on these folks via the contents of their files.  Every so often then, I run across double files – same person, different surname – that got made by accident.  Another important thing in my searching is discovering the most accurate termination date; since one of the things that I do in my job is help the woman who does employment verifications.  Well, sometimes these dates are a bit elusive; especially when there are two different people housed in the same folder — oops?  Same names exactly, different socials, and different middle initials.  Oh my.  Look at that.  Tsk.

So my coworker, after watching me untangle one of these wacky webs of weirdness – lol – said, “Wow.  Maybe you should be a detective.”

And as an unofficial pupil of the Great Detective (Batman), well how much higher praise can you have?  Well, I am known as the “Queen of Microfiche” as well, but I don’t know if I can think of that in the same light.  Get it?  Light?

Oy.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on December 3, 2008.

4 Responses to “Well You Gotta Figure . . .”

  1. Well, thank you very much for entertaining me with your eloquent recounting of your recent experiences. You know, I bet you would make a good cyber detective. Finding patterns in data, and such…

    After I am done with blog 365, I am going to read your novel. It’s a ghost story, right?

  2. hmmm…ya know after the semester you have had I think writers block could be in order! dontcha think?? 🙂

  3. Scoot Tis not done yet though. 🙂

    Hmmm, good point FXSmom!

  4. I gave you an award. Come collect it here ~ http://fragilex.wordpress.com/2008/12/04/my-umuhwellya-know-bling/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
