Things I Want to Get From a Degree Program

I made a list.  I’ll share:

  • Acceptance
  • Faculty support
  • Integrity
  • Being “part” of something/Belonging
  • Even playing field
  • Honesty
  • Equal opportunity
  • Being good at something
  • Respect
  • Untold potential
  • Acceptance
  • Home
  • Unconditional regard
  • Acceptance
  • Friendship
  • Self-Pride
  • Civility
  • Withholding judgment until after all is said and done

In an ironic twist of fate worthy only of my life of late, I have decided to put in an application to the graduate program in The School of Management – i.e. Business.  More specifically than that, however, I have decided that if I am to be accepted into the program, then I would like to also get a concentration in accounting.  More specifically than even that, the whole point of this endeavor is to enable me to try and acquire my CPA and go on to be an auditor.

Now I know what some, if not all, of you may be thinking.  Where is lastcrazyhorn and what have you done with her?

As I mentioned recently, I enjoy making order out of chaos.  It’s just something I do.

I’ve already gone over there and talked to them.  I left feeling encouraged.  The woman I asked most of my questions of supervises the full-time working folk’s MBA program.  Within half an hour of meeting her, I decided to bring up the Asperger’s Syndrome.  I just put it out there.  Her response?

“That was actually going to be my next question.”

She was the one who suggested the accounting concentration.  I had told her about my job, and she said that given my eye for detail and ability to see patterns, auditing was a potential direction that I should consider.  She also mentioned that she didn’t want me to major in anything I’d get bored in, given how intelligent I seemed.

From there, she introduced me to the accounting guy, a guy whose nickname is “Papa Smurf,” on account of his balding head and big white beard.  He’s a nice guy.  He was also very helpful; when I got back to my room, I discovered that he had sent me several email attachments about the program.

Regarding the CPA, it is a test that one must pass in order to become a “Certified Public Accountant.”  Papa Smurf also mentioned that only about 30-40% of people pass the test.  There’s a lady at my office who has her CPA, and she told me that he’s actually one of the folks who grades the durn thing.

It turns out that a lot of the work I’ve been doing at my job is similar to auditing.  Moreover, when I told my office about my decision, I was told more than once that, “Wow!  That would be great!  You’re such a natural!”

Therefore, provided I’m accepted, which I think I have a good chance at becoming, since my two reference letters are coming from the Payroll Manager of TWU and the Associate Vice President of Human Resources, I’m soon going to be striving towards earning an MBA, with a concentration in Accounting.

Now if that’s not a kick in the butt, I don’t know what is.

Seeing that I still want to be involved in helping people, I think that after I graduate I’d like to get hooked up with a non-profit organization of some variety.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on May 3, 2009.

8 Responses to “Things I Want to Get From a Degree Program”

  1. Seems like a reasonable compromise to me. This job is not what you’d do for love, but you could do it well enough to have a secure income. (And easily enough to leave you some time to do what you love.)

  2. That sounds fantastic. I took business (my major was finance) in college and loved it! Good Luck.

  3. Great list! I really want those things out of my degree program, too. Here’s hopin’ for both of us.

    And you’re gonna be a rockstar at auditing!

  4. I love the maturity and careful thought behind your post! I’m so proud of you!

  5. I used to think like you. I achieved my Juris Doctorate. Masters in Business Administration degree. I passed the California bar exam. I am diagnosed with savant HF autism. When I was outed as having autism, I was refused my bar admission for 20 years, and now we see so many non-autism candidates for U.S. Supreme Court Justice who are candidates precisely at the expense of autism in an unfair selection system. Until there is a Supreme Court Justice with diagnosed autism to protect autism rights, no person with autism should ever count on their hard work and ability to do the job to get them their licensure in any profession — or anything more than serving as a novelty to the non-autism crowd. In sum, we need a Michaelangelo on the High Court to affirm that people with autism have real abilities.

  6. Cool! There’s loads of stuff you can do with that!

  7. This sounds like a great move to me. You’ll have flexibility and a specialty that so many people must rely in personally and in business. And it is well suited to specific personalities and traits. Good luck to you.

  8. Best of luck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
