Financial Aid, How Do I Despise Thee, Let Me Count The Ways

I just wrote an email to 9 of the 14 employees over at the financial aid office on my campus.  As you might recall, I had to do something similar last summer.  My oh my, perhaps that’s why the bursar’s office has been sending me personal email updates ever sense.

*raises an eyebrow*

This time, I’m arguing that I’m being punished for something that I wasn’t told about; namely, the concept that there might have been a different due date for the submission of the FAFSA for our campus as compared with the FAFSA site itself.  According to FAFSA, the due date is June 30th, 2009.

After looking through nearly every nook and cranny on the TWU website, I have determined that if it is listed somewhere, it’s probably in the back of someone’s car, under a pile of soon to be donated old clothes.

*looks at you in exasperation*

I am a good researcher; I proudly claim that description.  If I can’t find it, how the hell are they expecting other people to do so???  So I brought that up and mentioned that as a registered member of my campus’s disability services, I am supposed to have equal access to all of the campus programs–which I think Financial aid most definitely counts as.  Furthermore, if they deny me equal opportunities and access in the financial aid office–either in person, or by website alone–then they are denying me my right to an equal education, since without the aid, I can’t go to school.

Makes sense to me.

Now I just hope they feel the same way.

Plus, since I work at the same office as the EEO guy on campus (as in my desk is right in front of his office), I included his email address too.

As like last year, I sent the email TO the basic financial aid folks, CCed their bosses, EEO guy, bursar’s office, and the Disability office, and BCCed the financial aid bosses’s boss, and then just for good measure, included her boss in there too.

Sigh.

~ by lastcrazyhorn on June 9, 2009.

3 Responses to “Financial Aid, How Do I Despise Thee, Let Me Count The Ways”

  1. They should get a decent human factors guy in there to check the web site. If it’s not accessible to somebody who likes to research stuff, it’s sure not going to be accessible to people whose use of computers is restricted mostly to MySpace.

  2. financial aid is a bear. good luck!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
