Devin Townsend (and why I dig him)

1.Juular –

The first song I found by Devin Townsend. Totally awesome.

2. Feather (edit) –

In contrast, this was the second of the first two songs I ever heard by him. Diversity is Devin Townsend and Devin Townsend is diversity.

3. From here, I bought the album “Deconstruction + Ghost” (2011). Here is the orchestra tracking video that DT made as a preview to Deconstruction:

4. Juular and Feather are both on this one, but another favorite is, “Stand.” – (at least try and make it through the first 4 minutes)

4.5 Transitioning between those two, we find ourselves with “Ho Krll” –

5. Another favorite then, deeply in contrast with “Stand” is “Blackberry” – (and this one is complete with subtitles!)

6. From THERE I moved onto his album, “Synchestra” (2006). There’s this one song, “Vampira” that is absolutely hilarious – Well, at least the video is hilarious

7. Synchestra is made of pure win. Another great song is “Notes from Africa.” – And this is why we learned arpeggios in band . . . lol –

8. The next album I bought was “Addicted” (2009). The song, “The Way Home” is what I play when coming home from big trips –

9. From there, I bought a couple of songs from his album, “Infinity” (1998). This is, “Wild Colonial Boy” – (it’s a bit of a fast waltz, you could almost say)

10. Devin Townsend’s “Ziltoid the Omniscient” (2007) is more fun to listen to on Youtube than it is to own – but I did buy one song – “The Greys” –

11. From here I found the album, “Ocean Machine” (1997) – One of my faves is: “Voices in the Fan” – make sure you listen to this song in its entirety –

12. And then the album, “Physicist” (2000) – and my favorite is “Namaste” – a complete difference from the last one. 🙂

13. He’s just released another album called, “Epicloud” (2012). And so its music isn’t yet on Youtube, though there is one that DT posted showing himself dancing in. It’s really really funny. The song is called “Lucky Animals.”

~ by lastcrazyhorn on September 21, 2012.

Leave a comment